Why I Choose To Be A Christian

For some time now I was debating on whether or not I would discuss my religious views and beliefs on my blog. I questioned whether or not I would lose viewers or whether or not I would offend anyone but truth be told, I am rather offending God himself. To start of: I am a Christian. I believe in a higher being. I believe in Jesus Christ our one and only savior. I believe that he died for our sins to save us. I believe that he is the Alpha and the Omega, the beginning and the end. I believe that in the beginning God created the heaven and the earth. Genesis 1:1-31Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset


“ Believe in God” Black Tee
The symbol in the middle of the shirt means “ Gye Nyame” translating to “Except God or “ Only God it comes from the Twi/Akan language originating from Ghana, West Africa
WWW. ASHANTIBEADS.COM

Truth be told for me Christianity is way of living; it’s a way to live a life that is truthful, peaceful and pleasing to our Lord above. Christianity isn’t just about going to church, speaking in tongues or quoting the Bible every now and then. I didn’t decide to be a Christian because my parents told me to or because I was forced to. I chose to be a Christian for myself because I have experienced how great and amazing he is!

So you may be wondering, how did it all begin? Since the age of 4 I attended Catholic school all the way up until college. I attended church weekly, prayed, took religion courses, completed my sacraments and joined various groups like prayer leaders and mission volunteers. During this stage in my life I experienced Christ at such a young age. I began to understand his purpose for us and the true meaning of accepting Christ. Following Christ as an adolescence isn’t an easy task at all especially in the society we live in now. Compared to many of my friends back in high school, I continued to focus on bettering myself by doing the right things. Although we attended a catholic school, many of them didn’t understand the idea of Christianity or why they had to follow “rules” in order to be a faithful child of God.

Fast forward to 2017, a 20 year old Christian college student who faces many challenges and temptations. Being on a college campus that focuses on the same traditional activities such as drinking and partying every weekend can be hard. Choosing to do otherwise such as focusing on your studies and staying in every weekend working or binge watching on Netflix is something I’d rather do. Oftentimes people around me don’t understand the choices I decide to make and that’s perfectly okay. People often say to me “ you’re missing out on the college experience.”

I’ve made my decision to serve this living God. Regardless of all the troubles or the blessings, I will forever serve him. So no, I am not condemning anyone or saying I am perfect but I am sharing my story. We all make mistakes and those who call God as their savior know that we are trying our best to achieve and strive to live and love like Jesus Christ.

“ The Christian life is not a constant high. I have my moments of deep discouragement. I often times nave to go to God in prayer with tears in my eyes, and say,” O God, favor me, use me, lift me, feel me, forgive me, help me”

Leave a Reply

