Importance of Digging Deep + milk and honey

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

In the midst of this thing we call LIFE we must learn to dig deep, love ourselves and most importantly protect our heart and our souls.

The importance of digging deep is not just about critically thinking it’s about discovering ourselves. It’s about understanding who we are, our purpose and connecting with things and people around us. It’s about giving ourselves time to reflect, question, think and feel.

You may be wondering, how can I dig deep within myself? Where do I start? The answer is :

SOLITUDE
state of seclusion or isolation

Solitude gives you the opportunity to learn to love yourself by discovering yourself and finding your own voice. It gives you time to think deeply about the changes going on in you life as you grow older and a time to unwind and focus.Believe it or not, solitude helps you enhance the quality and relationships with people around you.

Many of us avoid the conversation of feeling. We avoid dealing with our emotions. We avoid discussing things that occur in our lives on a daily basis. Generally speaking, emotions involve : fear, anger, joy, disgust and trust. As human beings these are things we face on a daily basis. After all, it’s what makes us HUMAN.

As I’ve gotten older each day I inspire to connect with others. I inspire to learn, love and feel every single thing around me. It’s a never ending process of DIGGING DEEP from within. Along with doing that I have grown affection towards poetry. Being that I love writing, poetry takes me to a whole different realm. It allows me to connect with each and every word written by the author. It gives me a sense that I am not alone when dealing with these issues I face each day.

milk and honey by Rupi Kaur is a collection of poetry I think every women and not just women but men should have on their nightstand. Kaur discusses her experiences of violence, abuse, love and femininity. The book is divided into four sections : the loving, the hurting, the healing and the breaking. As you read each poem, it takes you on a journey of bitter moments and sweetness. Her stories are absolutely relatable and touching. As you read each page you can’t help but to keep saying yes, yes, yes I can understand your pain, love, hurt and joy.

I encourage you to dig deep, connect within yourself and others and most importantly self-love!

” it is both a blessing and a curse to feel everything so deeply”

Leave a Reply

